To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

NTDC honours NAIJA 7 wonders team

Travel » News & Alerts

IN appreciation of the efforts of the project ‘Naija 7’ wonders committee, the Nigerian Tourism Development Corporation has presented certificates of award to each member of the team.

Presenting the certificate of merit award to each member of the committee at the Planet One Hotel, Lagos on Thursday, the Director-General of NTDC, Mr. Olusegun Runsewe declared that it was an epoch in the advancement of tourism development in Nigeria.

During the event, the DG NTDC also presented T-shirts branded with the seven wonders of Nigeria and a bronze medal to each recipient saying we must not wait until the passing of our heroes before we celebrate them.

Runsewe praised the recipients admitting they had distinguished themselves by contributing their quota to the development of tourism in Nigeria stressing the need for all to work as a team to check the activities of fraudsters in the industry.

Speaking further, the NTDC chief observed that all over the world, tourism was private sector driven charging all stakeholders and state governments to key into the effort to develop tourism in Nigeria.

Speaking during the event, Project Director and publisher of African Travel Quarterly magazine, Mr. Ikechi Uko explained that those who didn’t get the certificate entered only after voting was completed, hence could not be included but assured that the phase two would be expanded to accommodate more people.

He narrated the history of the project which according to him, commenced in 2010 with inputs from several individuals with Nigerians having a final say in the choice of the seven most wonderful sites in Nigeria while appreciating Runsewe for his fatherly role and supporting the project in its totality.

It will be recalled that the NTDC had earlier endorsed the submission of the project committee during a courtesy call on the DG, NTDC in Abuja promising to promote the seven wonderful sites as chosen by Nigerians.

The seven enterprising sites include Obudu Mountain Resort, Cross River State, Sukur Kingdom, Adamawa State, Osun Groove, Osogbo, Osun State, Kano Walls, Kano State, Oke Idanre Hills, Ondo State, Benin moat, Edo State and National War Museum, Umuahia, Abia State.

Article credit: Guardian Newspaper

For more Nigerian news:

Article Credit:

Updated 6 Years ago

Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     NTDC honours NAIJA 7 wonders team