To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

INEC Suspends Distribution of Voters’ Cards in Boko Haram-controlled Areas in Adamawa

News » Politics



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has suspended the distribution of Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVCs) in  Madagali, Michika, Maiha, Mubi North and Mubi South Local Government Areas of Adamawa State for security reasons.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in the state, Kasim Gaidam, stated this shortly after a meeting with security agencies, National Orientation Agency (NOA) and political parties’ executives in Yola  in preparations for the coming  October 11 by-election in state.

Meanwhile, at the meeting, it was unanimously agreed that the distribution of the PVCs should be suspended in Boko Haram-controlled areas in the state.
This was contained in a communiqué jointly signed by  Gaidam and  the state Commissioner of Police, Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG),  John Abakasanga,  which made available to journalists in Yola yesterday.

According to the communiqué, “The distribution of  voters’ cards should be suspended in Madagali, Michika, Maiha, Mubi North and Mubi South Local Government Areas for security reasons.”

It stated that the stakeholders expressed concern over the worsening security situation in five local government areas that make up the Adamawa North senatorial district as Michika and Madagali had already being captured by the insurgents.

It added that tension had ensued in Mubi and Maiha as residents in the troubled areas were trooping out of the areas in thousands to find refuges.
“The meeting unanimously agreed to the following: That the distribution of the PVCs be suspended until such a time when normalcy returns to the aforementioned local government areas, meaning voters shall use their Temporary Voters Cards to vote in elections,” the communique stated.

The statement indicated that the resolution was subject to approval by the INEC Chairman, Professor Attahiru Jega.

Article Credit: Thisdaylive

Updated 5 Years ago

Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     INEC     Madagali     Michika     Maiha     Kasim Gaidam     John Abakasanga     Attahiru Jega